Politics Sci-Tech Culture Celebrity

A Ghost Ship, a Killer, and the Birth of a Gangster Nation ( By Rich Cohen )

19


Free P.D.F e_Book D.ownload and Rea.d Online
Author : Rich Cohen
Format : Paperback|Hardcover (KINDLE)
eBooks are now available on this website
Link : https://ctrlipub.blogspot.co.uk/?book=0399589929
(Works on PC, iPad, Android, iOS, Tablet, MAC)
Synopsis:
Was he New York City’s last pirate…or its first gangster? This is the true story of the bloodthirsty underworld legend who conquered Manhattan, port by port — for fans of Gangs of New York and Boardwalk Empire.Albert Hicks was a feared, shadowy figure of the New York underworld in the mid-1800s. Handsome and charismatic, he was known to frequent the dive bars and gin joints of the Five Points, the most dangerous neighborhood in maritime Manhattan. For years, he operated out of the public eye, rambling from crime to crime, working on the water, in ships, sleeping in the nickel-a-night flops, drinking in barrooms where rat-baiting and bear-baiting were great entertainments.Hicks’s criminal career reached its peak in 1860, when he was hired, under an alias, as an extra hand on an oyster sloop. His plan was to rob the ship, make his getaway, and disappear in the teeming streets of lower Manhattan, as he’d done numerous times before. But the plan went awry, and the voyage turned into a

Note:
Before I apologize, here I am not offering it for free, but you have to join our service, and get a trial period of 14–30 days, you can cancel it if it is uncomfortable. Thank you so much .. Hope you are pleased to join our service, and you can read all the books you want ..



Source link

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!